Massachusetts | Personal Injury
Legal Question
I am a Chiropractor in MA, and have a new patient who's Attorney is notorious for not paying Chiro bills, and giving the Chiro's $$ to the client. A colleague told me: "This is how he can say he gets his clients more money than the other lawyers. It's uncanny how they know the intricacies of the law at the point where my bill comes into play. Being on "welfare" makes collecting from them impossible." It leaves me wondering how I can protect my money from being given away? I want to help my patient, but, I don't want to sue my patient in the end. What bothers me most is that I'm providing necessary care, and basically making the bills and the case for the Atty and Pt, and risk getting screwed at the end by them both. I'm never opposed to settlement. My question is; is there a contract or lien that we can sign that will protect my interest? Is there a duty to not leave the client with unpaid bills, or some Bar regulation that is supposed to prevent it?


