Massachusetts  |  Product Liability

Legal Question

Asked on: 6/12/11, 6:01 am

I am publishing an open source software that displays real time driving info such as speed, engine RPM, coolant temperature, etc. on a car PC (a computer installed in the car by the driver/software user). In a standard disclaimer of liability for open source software license it includes a list of examples of damages:

"(INCLUDING, BUT NOT LIMITED TO, PROCUREMENT OF SUBSTITUTE GOODS OR SERVICES;

LOSS OF USE, DATA, OR PROFITS; OR BUSINESS INTERRUPTION)".

May I add to the list explicitly the damages related to car accidents, such as

"DEATH; INJURY; COLLISION AND/OR DAMAGE TO VEHICLES; LIABILITY FOR ACCIDENTS; TRAFFIC VIOLATION FINES;"

so that I will be shielded from law suits by people who misuse the software and get into car accidents?

Thank you!

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

153 Answers given in the last few hours.

7513 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search