Massachusetts  |  Product Liability

question bubble
6/28/07, 8:20 pm

Legal Question


Scammed and now i'm paying for it

I received a check in the mail with a letter stating that I had won the money. I called the bank that the check was from and verified that the account was a valid account so I so happily deposited the check into my savings account. The check cleared, but, a WEEK later, after I had already used some of the money, the bank charged it back. I had originally deposited the check into my savings acct but then transferred it to my checking so that I could use it. When the bank went to charge it back, they went into my checking and withdrew all the money from it, which included a direct deposit for my salary, and they took it all to cover the chargeback from the fradulent check. I was told I can't do much about the scammers. I would love to sink these people for scamming innocent victims. However, can the bank simply take the funds out of my checking to cover the chargeback of the fraudulent check without giving me a chance to pay it back once i was aware of the scam? I wasn't even aware of the scam until my bank went after my funds in my checking. I am now in a finacial hardship due to this and half of my bills won't be paid this month due to this. Can i demand the bank to return my funds and allow me to pay the money back on my own?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search