Massachusetts  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
5/27/09, 4:04 pm

Legal Question


Back Charges for Sewer Usage

After the previous owners of my house connected to the town sewer, the town never set up the billing code to charge the homeowners for sewer usage. The town recently discovered the mistake and told us our next water/sewer bill will include sewer charges for the 7 years we've owned the house but were not charged for sewer. Can they make us pay the old sewer charges even though it was the town's mistake? This is our first home and we assumed the total on the water/sewer bill was correct.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search