Massachusetts  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
3/30/09, 4:54 pm

Legal Question


lien

Recently built a home - P & S

agreement clearly states that our

deposit is due in full if builder does

not complete the home by a certain

date. The builder did not complete

the home by the specified date, or

anytime close to the date. They also

failed to renew the P & S agreement

with us to re-establish a later closing

date. We are no longer interested in

the home and seeking full return of

our money. They are claiming we

delayed the project. Decisions were

made promptly with the GC who is

also principal in the company. He

met with us many times and during

those meetings as well as on a daily

casual basis, implicitly agreed that we

did not hold up the project. He is now

going back on his word and in denial

of these meetings and conversations.

The overriding fact is that the

agreement expired before the home

was done and it is their responsibility

to file a new agreement, hence

setting a new closing date. We are

demanding our money back and wish

to place a lien on the property so that

they cannot sell it before we get our

money back.

Do we have the right to our deposit?

and how long does the lien process

take to file?

Thank you


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search