Massachusetts  |  Social Security Law

question bubble
11/27/07, 6:12 am

Legal Question


Death benifits

My former foster son passed away this week. He was estranged from his wife and birth family. I have been his only family for some time. He was waiting for approval on an SSI claim that should have been retroactive for the past year. I have been helping him financialy as have some of his friends. I now need to pay for his final expenses. Social Security has told me that there is no funding from his claim that I can use for his final expenses. He doesn't even qualify for the $255. one time death benifit. Is there anything I can do to get his funeral expenses paid?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search