Legal Question in Bankruptcy in Michigan

I am a Canadian working in the USA and I am filing bankruptcy in Canada. I have American debt and I was wondering if my wages can be garnished? I spoke to an American attorney, and he didn't think my "US" creditors could double dip. My trustee stated they have to file a claim before they receive any monies. Am I protected??

Asked on 8/31/12, 12:02 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Charles Andersen Charles Andersen, Atty
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

San Diego Bankruptcy Attorney A canadian order probably will not be automatically enforced in Michigan.

Read more
8/31/12, 12:27 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Bankruptcy Law questions and answers in Michigan

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88323 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Bankruptcy Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now