Legal Question in Family Law in Michigan

I live in MI. My husband and I are having my sister be our surrogate. (No Compensation) The child will be conceived via Donor Egg and my husbands sperm.

(The following is my understanding of MI law so I am just looking for advice on if this is correct and how to proceed.)

After contacting a local lawyer he recommended a surrogate contract but in MI there is no recognition for these contracts. What would the point be in paying for a contract that is not legally binding? (The women who carried the child is legally the mother unless she agrees otherwise. If she changed her mind the court would not recognize the contract as binding.)

Is there a way to do a Pre-Birth Order without a lawyer? What is the process?

Asked on 9/23/12, 5:43 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

William Stern William Stern, P.C.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

This is a very important issue and you cannot afford to have mistakes. I would contact attorney Monica Linkner and bounce it off her.

Read more
9/23/12, 6:08 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Michigan

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88333 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now