Michigan  |  Medical Leave

question bubble
1/11/09, 6:54 pm

Legal Question


Fired for taking FMLA

I was on FMLA and short term disability until 1/5/09. My employer sent me a letter telling me that my FMLA had run out and I was to report to work on 1/9/09. I did this and was immediately fired. The only reason hinted at was that I was no longer protected under FMLA and that I had been away from work since September.

Is firing me solely for taking FMLA legal?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search