Michigan | Personal Injury
1/04/10, 1:19 pm
Legal Question
Can I file a lawsuit against my fiance's former employer for emotional and financial distress?
Can I file a lawsuit against my fiance's former employer for emotional and financial distress?
|
Read More Answered By: Audra Arndt |
You can, but you likely wouldn't be successful. To properly answer your question, a lawyer would need more information that just this question to answer you. A claim against anyone for IIED is not the primary claim - it is usually an additional claim to negligence, discrimination, harassment, etc. Additionally, the emotionally traumatic behavior must have been directed at you, causing you damages, and not simply someone else undergoing distress, and then you feel the effects of it. Technically there is no legal claim for "financial distress," but you likely mean something else. Re-post your question with the brief facts that you believe may give rise to a cause of action (lawsuit) against the former employer, so that a lawyer may answer you more specifically. Thank you. |
|
Read More Answered By: Mark Bello |
Depending on how and what happened, your fiance might be entitled to file a Michigan Workers' Compensation action. As Audra said, you have not provided enough facts. For your fiance to successfully pursue the Workers' Comp case, he/she must show disability caused by the emotional distress, not just emotional distress. |
Livonia, MI
Questions Answered: 2489
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-27
Lansing, MI
Questions Answered: 2339
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Southfield, MI
Questions Answered: 1936
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Redmond, WA
Questions Answered: 1783
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-06-03
West Bloomfield, MI
Questions Answered: 1099
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-16
Plymouth, MI
Questions Answered: 696
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-07-18
Ypsilanti, MI
Questions Answered: 448
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-10
Farmington Hills, MI
Questions Answered: 447
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-04-13
Howell, MI
Questions Answered: 414
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-07-16
► My son's car was hit on somebody's property. My son was at his friends house and...
► In July 2009, my boyfriend of five years jumped out of my car when we were arguing....
► What is the process to make an injury claim against a homeowners insurance company?
► Boyfriend at the time sceamed at me, threatened my life while driving me to work,...
► My son received 2nd degree burns from a hot chocolate machine that a worker at a...
► I am 38 years old ,and i am a greencard holder ,i was caught yesterday stealing at...
► I recently left a law firm where I was a legal secretary. In July of 09, we sent a...
More Personal Injury Law and Tort Law questions and answers in Michigan| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press