Minnesota  |  Business Law

question bubble
6/08/04, 3:28 pm

Legal Question


Withholding monies

I rented from a townhome complex and was told that I would receive back my deposit of 250 dollars at the end of my lease as long as nothing was damaged and the townhome was cleaned per the cleaning list that was given. I followed the extensive cleaning list, including scrubbing heat ducts with a toothbrush and was told that I would receive my deposit on the 21st of the month that I moved out. I still have not received my deposit and have been given the run around. I have called numerous times, left messages and to no avail. They penalized me for what they called late payment of rent, which was NEVER late, and now they aren't returning my money. Is there some law that deals with with holding monies? How come they can penalize me in wrong doing but there is no penalty for them. Also, a friend of mine rented at the same complex and ended up going to court to get his deposit back, is that something that I am going to have to do? Thank you for your help and answers to my frustrating situation.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search