Legal Question in Real Estate Law in Minnesota

Plat map question

We are trying to refinance our home and were told we can't because of an exculsion listed on the title policy which states that our patio was built 9ft over onto the city lot to our North. How do we resolve this issue. The Title Company says they won't insure a property with this kind of exclusion but no one is telling us how to correct it so that we can refinance and also sell our property one day. I am also wondering if we have any right to go back to the Title Company who closed our loan orignally and get them to pay any costs since they should have told us about the exclusion. We were not aware of any of this until now. Thank you!

Asked on 6/18/09, 7:07 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Daniel Reiff Reiff Law Office
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: Plat map question

This is not an easy fix. I think you may want to retain an attorney to discuss your options.

Read more
6/19/09, 7:48 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in Minnesota

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88273 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Real Estate and Real Property Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now