Minnesota | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
walk away from mortgage
I can no longer afford 1st & 2nd mortgage, even though I have equity I am going to vacate residence. Should I notify mortgage company that property has been vacated? Thank You
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: David Kelly-952-544-6356 |
Re: walk away from mortgage That would be a good idea; because anything that happens to the place or at the place after you leave could still be your responsibility - such as someone slipping and falling on the ice in your driveway - or neighborhood kids breaking in and having a party where someone gets hurt.
You want to have your mortgage company or companies "secure" the place as soon as possible.
Better yet, ask your mortgage comany about a "deed in lieu of forclosure." This would be where you just give the mortgage company a deed to the place. This is more complicated where there are two mortgages, of course.
In the event that the first mortgage company forecloses, and the second mortgage company does nothing, you could be liable to the second mortage company for the full amount of the loan even though you are losing the house. You might want to consider a bankruptcy to get rid of that debt.
As you can see, there are lots of ramifications to what you are considering. You would be well advised to actually talk with a lawyer face to face. |
Top Attorneys in MN
Minnesota Lawyers
St. Louis Park, MN
Questions Answered: 2487
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-20
Calvert Law Office
Saint Cloud, MN
Questions Answered: 251
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-28
Reiff Law Office
St. Louis Park, MN
Questions Answered: 166
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
Law Office of Steven J. Vatndal
Mankato, MN
Questions Answered: 156
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-07-06
Law Office of Scott M. Dutcher, LLC
Alexandria, MN
Questions Answered: 31
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-03-01
Larry B. Stevens & Associates
Roseville, MN
Questions Answered: 23
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-10
Capstone Law, LLC
Saint Louis Park, MN
Questions Answered: 19
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-11-08
Alex Simanovsky & Associates, LLC
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 17
Last Question Aswered on: 2000-10-18
Reigel Law Firm, Ltd./Aero Legal Services
Hopkins, MN
Questions Answered: 13
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-23
Hellmuth & Johnson, PLLC
Eden Prairie, MN
Questions Answered: 11
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-19
Search Questions and Answers


