Minnesota | Wills and Trusts
Legal Question
Change of executor
I need to change the executor of our will. Please advise how this should be done. Does it have to be notorized to be legal?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: David Kelly-952-544-6356 |
Re: Change of executor It would be best for you to redo the entire will. The alternative is to do a codicil, which is an amendment to the will. What always seems to happen is that the codicil gets separated from the original of the will. There's nothing worse than having the amendment without knowing what it's an amendment to.
These days it's just about as easy to redo the whole thing as it is to do a codicil. And to properly sign a codicil, it needs all the formalities that a will would require. Usually that's two witnesses and a notary.
This is for general information purposes only and does not create an attorney-client relationship. You should consult the attorney of your choice concerning your situation. |
Top Attorneys in MN
Minnesota Lawyers
St. Louis Park, MN
Questions Answered: 2487
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-20
Law Offices of Robert D. Kane, Jr.
Eagan, MN
Questions Answered: 548
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Calvert Law Office
Saint Cloud, MN
Questions Answered: 251
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-28
Chesley Kroon Chambers and Harvey
Mankato, MN
Questions Answered: 207
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-01-27
Reiff Law Office
St. Louis Park, MN
Questions Answered: 166
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
763-424-6442
Maple Grove, MN
Questions Answered: 79
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-03
Felix Law Office, P. A.
Burnsville, MN
Questions Answered: 73
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-01-06
Law Office of Donald W. Kohler
White Bear Lake, MN
Questions Answered: 41
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-05-02
Law Office of Scott M. Dutcher, LLC
Alexandria, MN
Questions Answered: 31
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-03-01
Larry B. Stevens & Associates
Roseville, MN
Questions Answered: 23
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-10
Search Questions and Answers


