Minnesota | Wills and Trusts
1/29/09, 12:58 pm
Legal Question
Wills
Is an oral will valid in the state of Minnesota?
Wills
Is an oral will valid in the state of Minnesota?
|
Read More Answered By: David Kelly-952-544-6356 |
Re: Wills Absolutely not. That is a document which not only has to be in writing, but has to satisfy a number of other very specific requirments.
For this reason, it is definitely not a waste of your money to hire a lawyer to help you prepare your will. |
|
Read More Answered By: Maury Beaulier612.240.8005 |
Re: Wills No. In Minnesota, a person must be at least 18 years old in order to make a legal will. In addition, he or she must be of sound mind, which means that the individual has no mental disability that prevents him or her from understanding the full nature of the document he or she signs. In Minnesota, a will must be in writing and must be witnessed and signed by at least two other people. A handwritten will, often called a holographic will, is valid in Minnesota provided that it is witnessed and signed by two people. Individuals must sign their own wills, but if they are illiterate or otherwise incapacitated, they can direct another person, in the presence of witnesses, to sign for them.
For a consultation call 612.240.8005. |
St. Louis Park, MN
Questions Answered: 2487
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-20
Eagan, MN
Questions Answered: 548
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Saint Cloud, MN
Questions Answered: 251
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-28
Mankato, MN
Questions Answered: 207
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-01-27
St. Louis Park, MN
Questions Answered: 166
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
Maple Grove, MN
Questions Answered: 79
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-03
Burnsville, MN
Questions Answered: 73
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-01-06
White Bear Lake, MN
Questions Answered: 41
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-05-02
Alexandria, MN
Questions Answered: 31
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-03-01
Roseville, MN
Questions Answered: 23
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-10
► ***please help**(probate matter) minnesota Dear friend, i need help with a probate...
► My dad died in minnesota ''i'm now homeless within 5 hrs'' Dear friend, about 10...
► How can i get a copy of a trust my father died and he was left things in a trust....
► Next of kin Is there a free form that can be filled out to prove that you are next...
► A legal will in place can a parent will a piece of property like farm land to one...
► Wills What is the procdure in Minnesota to process after death.
► No will with deceased child My grandmother passed away early this year. Then my...
More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in Minnesota| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press