Legal Question in Criminal Law in Mississippi

My 83 yr old grandmother was served a search warrant. Which is absurb on its own! The officer just walked in her home without knocking and announcing himself. They didn't find anything illegal. Instead they took all her money and purse. They told her she could come sign for it and pick it up tomorrow. Was this legal?

Asked on 7/26/12, 12:58 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Wayne Woodall Wayne Woodall Attorney
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Probably Not; it would depend on the contents of the purse and the relationship between those contents and the underlying reason for the search.

Read more
10/19/12, 4:51 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in Mississippi

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8808 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino & La, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now