Mississippi  |  Medical Malpractice

question bubble
2/21/03, 3:01 am

Legal Question


Sanction for filing claim

Last week I discovered that my doctor's office erroneously

provided my insurance carrier with a copy of my medical record. I said I would sue, and we settled for $1,500.00.

After signing a contract (basically that this matter is now settled, I won't sue for the same thing again, etc), I was told by the Cheif Operating Officer of the clinic that I am no longer allowed to be treated by any physician at the clinic or the hospital that they are affiliated with because they ''settled'' with me.

I live in a small town and the nearest town is dominated by this clinic and the main hospital they are affiliated with. I could find another doctor, but this is rather limiting.

They are a for profit organization, but can they ban a person from medical care just because they filed a claim? I asked them ''how would you know if I was being seen by a doctor that is affiliated with the clinic''. He said ''We will be coding your account so that it reads ''do not accept appointments from this person''. Is this legal?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search