Missouri | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
I have a crazy stalker ex-girlfriend who will not stop contacting me. The latest is she is saying that if I don't give her back everything she purchased for me on her credit card, she will take me to court and sue me. Can she legally do this?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Anthony Smith |
The question "can they sue me?" is almost always answered "Yes." The issue is, can they prevail. If your ex is trying to stalk and harrass you, she may be willing to file a suit she will lose.
If she purchased gifts for you on her credti card, then those are not subject to give back, unless they were givien in anticipation of marriage, like an engagement ring. If she made loans to you, because you wanted to get things you could not purchase yourself, then she may prevail against you, and may get interest at her credit card rate.
You may do well to make a list of the items that you believe were gifts and those that were loans, and consult with an attorney in your area, in order to get more specific advice about your vulnerability to a civil suit. Many attorneys offer a free initial consultation.
Good luck |
Top Attorneys in MO
Michael R. Nack, Attorney at Law
St. Louis, MO
Questions Answered: 3776
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
LawSmith
Lee's Summit, MO
Questions Answered: 3761
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Santoro Law Office
Bonner Springs, KS
Questions Answered: 192
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Law Office of Mark A. Reiter, LLC
Kansas City, MO
Questions Answered: 95
Last Question Aswered on: 2003-10-04
The Stevens Law Firm
Springfield, MO
Questions Answered: 82
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Joseph R. Burcke, Attorney at Law
St. Louis, MO
Questions Answered: 67
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-08
Post Warren Lindstrom, LLP
Overland Park, KS
Questions Answered: 63
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-08-25
the montgomery law firm llc
Springfield, MO
Questions Answered: 57
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
The Legal Resource Center
Lees Summit, MO
Questions Answered: 24
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-11-30
Alex Simanovsky & Associates, LLC
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 17
Last Question Aswered on: 2000-10-18
Search Questions and Answers


