Missouri  |  Tax Law

question bubble
9/13/05, 4:01 pm

Legal Question


Taxation on sale of property

My mom's boyfriend recently died and, upon his death, ownership of the house was immediately passed on to her. She would like to sell the house (est. value $350k) but, even though she's lived there for 7 years, she's only been the owner for 2 months. Will she have to pay taxes on the full sales price of the house because she hasn't owned it for more than two years and because the sales gain to her would be 100% of the sales price? What if she were to buy another home within a year? Thank you in advance for your help.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search