Nevada | Bankruptcy
Legal Question
In NV when a renter files bankruptcy and is 3 months behind in rent can you evict for non payment or for breaking the lease when they have a dog without permission?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Dorothy Bunce |
You must obtain permission from the Bankruptcy Court to proceed with an eviction. Most civil legal proceedings are "stayed" or injoined when a Bankruptcy is filed. Take a look at 11 USC section 362 for details. There is an exception for landlords under subsection (b)(10) which does not apply to your situation because it addresses nonresidential property only (such as business premises) where the lease expired BEFORE the Bankruptcy was filed.
As this is a complicated matter, you should seek the help of an attorney representing creditors to resolve this problem. |
Top Attorneys in NV
James E. Smith Ltd.
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1456
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Malikowski Law Offices, Ltd.
Reno, NV
Questions Answered: 365
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-23
A Fresh Start
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 330
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-06
TheCorporateAttorneys.com
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 294
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-27
Black & Lobello
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 286
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-11-16
Law Offices of Keith Knochel
Bullhead City, AZ
Questions Answered: 145
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-06-25
Law Offices of Jeffrey A. Cogan, Chartered
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 109
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-02-27
John Peter Lee, Ltd.
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 78
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
Law Offices of Robert A .Grayson
Carson City, NV
Questions Answered: 30
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-09-11
Joseph A. Scalia & Associates
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 28
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-11-05
Search Questions and Answers


