Nevada  |  Constitutional Law

question bubble
2/23/08, 10:10 pm

Legal Question


Student Loan and wage garnishment

I was recently garnished by the Department of Education for a student loan I received in 1984. At the time of my default there was a six year statute of limitations (20 usc 1091). 7 years After the statute of limitations for my loan had passed, congress amended, 20 usc 1091 , eliminating the statute of limitation.

Is it a violation of the ex post facto clause to impose sanctions on me based on amended law that was enacted after the statute of limitations had passed?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search