Nevada | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
Collections
I have been contacted form a collection agency saying that I have been sued by Capital One for an outstanding debt from 2 years ago. They are telling me that if I do not comply with them they are going to garnish my wages and put a lien on my car. What should I do?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Paul Malikowski |
Re: Collections Nevada law requires Plaintiffs in credit card lawsuits to produce the following proof:
NRS 97A.160 Records required in action to collect debt: Establishment of liability and amount; authentication; retention.
1. Notwithstanding the provisions of chapter 52 of NRS, in any action brought to collect a debt owed to an issuer:
(a) The issuer may establish that the cardholder is contractually liable for the debt owed by submitting the written application for a credit card account submitted to the issuer by the cardholder or evidence that the cardholder incurred charges on the account and made payments thereon.
(b) The amount owed may be established by photocopies of:
(1) The periodic billing statements provided by the issuer; or
(2) Information stored by the issuer on a computer, microfilm, microfiche or optical disc which indicate the amount of the debt owed.
2. The content of such records must be authenticated:
(a) Pursuant to the procedures set forth in NRS 52.450 to 52.480, inclusive; or
(b) By the submission of a written affidavit sufficient to establish:
(1) The affiant as the custodian of the written records offered as evidence;
(2) That the written records offered as evidence were made in the ordinary course of the issuer’s business; and
(3) That the written records are true and correct copies of the records retained by the issuer.
3. The liability of a person other than the cardholder for the amount of any debt owed to an issuer may be established by evidence indicating that the person caused the charge to be incurred on the credit card account.
4. An issuer shall retain any record necessary to establish the existence and amount of any debt owed to the issuer for at least 24 months after the record is first published, issued or filed.
(Added to NRS by 1995, 2599)
A written response to the lawsuit, timely filed with the Court where the lawsuit is pending, should demand this proof from the Plaintiff.
Your attorney can explain further. |
Top Attorneys in NV
www.SelikLaw.com
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2001
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-27
Malikowski Law Offices, Ltd.
Reno, NV
Questions Answered: 365
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-23
TheCorporateAttorneys.com
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 294
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-27
Black & Lobello
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 286
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-11-16
Law Offices of Frederick D. (Rick) Williams, Chtd.
Sparks, NV
Questions Answered: 223
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-21
David Otto & Affiliates, PC
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 159
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Law Offices of Keith Knochel
Bullhead City, AZ
Questions Answered: 145
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-06-25
Law Offices of Jeffrey A. Cogan, Chartered
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 109
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-02-27
Law Office of Grenville Pridham
Tustin, CA
Questions Answered: 89
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-02-11
Attorney at Law
Lake Tahoe, NV
Questions Answered: 63
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-17
Search Questions and Answers


