Nevada | Criminal Law
Legal Question
judgement and restitution
I was convicted of embezzlement and part of my plea bargain to obtain probation was a $25,000 restitution agreement. 3 months later, because I could not come up with a $15,000 ''balloon'' payment on this ageement (I was supposed to get a 2nd mortgage on my home and was unable to do so), my probation was revoked and I did 16 months in prison, then was granted parole. While on parole for 2 years, I managed to pay approx. $11,000 in restitution. Now, I am trying to sell my home along with my husband, and there is a judgement filed in the court where I was convicted on the day I was granted parole against me for the full amount of $25,000, which comes up on the county recorder's website and it looks like a lien on our property. I have obtained a copy and it is a judgement against me alone. Should I do a Quit claim on our house? I am currently also trying to get credit for the money I DID pay, but P and P is not too helpful.Also, the victim took this as a tax loss write-off and also made a claim on their business insurance, which they got money for when I pled guilty to obtain the original plea bargain. Can they ''triple dip'' like this? And if the judgement is active, why haven't they come and garnished me at work? Thanks in advance!


