dui hit and run
I was ran off the road and my car went into a ditch. I walk home and called 911. Later I was arrested for dui,hit and run and failer to notify of an accident. I said I called the police myself. When I was taking to the station my blood was taken to see if my blood alcohol was over the limit. I was told the result would be in 2 weeks. I could also get a police report in 2 weeks. I believe I was under the limit but I was charged with a dui anyway. Can you tell me what I should do. Are the three charges valid?
1 Answer from Attorneys
Re: dui hit and run
Did they give you any field sobriety tests--walking heel-to-toe, standing on one leg, etc? Did they do an eye pursuit test? How long were you home before they arrested you? There are a lot of questions that would be answered when you get your arrest report. They can charge anything in a citation, but the case will be reviewed by the DA's office to determine what charges will actually be filed. I presume that you you posted bail and were given a court date. If you have not appeared before a judge (either personally or by video) your court appearance is an arraignment when you will be advised of what charges are actually filed, your right to an attorney, your other rights and you will be asked to enter a plea. By all means, plead not guilty. You will then be assigned a date for a pretrial which will give you time to obtain the report and where you (or your attorney) will meet with a Deputy DA to discuss a possible resolution.I suggest that you discuss any possible defenses with an attorney as the penalties for DUI are substantial,including mandatory jail time and revocation of your driver's license as well as counseling, fines and other obligations.. You can call my office in Carson City for an appointment. A consultation is only $40.
Related Questions & Answers
Possible Punishment I was wondering what the probable punishment (jail time, fines,... Asked 2/25/04, 11:24 pm in United States Nevada Drunk Driving & DUI Law
Protection of spouse from DUI incident My husband was in a DUI accident. Everything... Asked 10/19/02, 1:12 pm in United States Nevada Drunk Driving & DUI Law
Driving License Two years ago in California I received my third DUI. I would like to... Asked 5/27/01, 4:37 pm in United States Nevada Drunk Driving & DUI Law
Getting arrested for a DUI When you get arrested for a DUI, do they always take your... Asked 3/06/01, 3:37 am in United States Nevada Drunk Driving & DUI Law