Nevada  |  Employment Law

question bubble
10/30/04, 8:45 pm

Legal Question


Possible Wrongful Termination in Reno

I am writing this for my daughter who lives in Manhattan. She was recruited by an agency for a fashion design company in Reno, Nevada. She was interviewed by several company managers in New York in August, 2004, and then was flown to Reno at company expense in September, 2004. In early October, she received the formal offer of employment. The offer included the salary, complete coverage of all moving expenses, and 3 months rent on an apartment in Reno. She, of course, resigned from her current job, gave up her apartment, and moved to Reno to accept the position. Her first day was October 25. She spent 3 days on the job, was given various assignements, and thought things were going very well. On October, she flew back to New York (again at company expense), to prepare for the movers, etc. She received a call from the HR manager that day who related that the company didn't want her to come back to Reno. She called the managers who told her she wasn't a good fit for the job, and that she was being terminated. They then cancelled the moving company, and told her she would be receiving severance papers in the mail. She would have 7 days to sign and return these.

Needless to say, my daughter is distraught. Is there any recourse???


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search