Nevada | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
my landlord sent me a notice of complaint that stated my childs behavior is unacceptable and refures to the lease agrement under paragraph that imply eviction but give no example of said behavior. do i have a right to an explination and or the person whom made the complaint.
p.s. please forgive my spelling
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Paul Malikowski |
Nevada law is very specific concerning the actions a landlord must take, and the appropriate response by a tenant of residential real property, when there is an issue of performance of a lease covenant. The question posed suggests that the covenant has something to do with some action taken by the tenant's minor child. Without more, there is no way to determine what the lease covenent (promise) requires, or what the tenant can do to comply. The law governing this type of clause in the context of formal eviction actions reads:
NRS 40.2516 Unlawful detainer: Possession after failure to perform conditions of lease; saving lease from forfeiture. A tenant of real property or a mobile home for a term less than life is guilty of an unlawful detainer when the tenant continues in possession, in person or by subtenant, after a neglect or failure to perform any condition or covenant of the lease or agreement under which the property or mobile home is held, other than those mentioned in NRS 40.250 to 40.252, inclusive, and NRS 40.254, and after notice in writing, requiring in the alternative the performance of the condition or covenant or the surrender of the property, served upon the tenant, and, if there is a subtenant in actual occupation of the premises, also upon the subtenant, remains uncomplied with for 5 days after the service thereof. Within 3 days after the service, the tenant, or any subtenant in actual occupation of the premises, or any mortgagee of the term, or other person, interested in its continuance, may perform the condition or covenant and thereby save the lease from forfeiture; but if the covenants and conditions of the lease, violated by the lessee, cannot afterwards be performed, then no notice need be given.
(Added to NRS by 1985, 226)
Your attorney can explain further. |
Top Attorneys in NV
www.SelikLaw.com
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
James E. Smith Ltd.
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1456
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Malikowski Law Offices, Ltd.
Reno, NV
Questions Answered: 365
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-23
TheCorporateAttorneys.com
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 292
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Black & Lobello
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 286
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-11-16
Law Offices of Frederick D. (Rick) Williams, Chtd.
Sparks, NV
Questions Answered: 223
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-21
Law Offices of Keith Knochel
Bullhead City, AZ
Questions Answered: 145
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-06-25
Law Offices of Jeffrey A. Cogan, Chartered
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 109
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-02-27
Attorney at Law
Lake Tahoe, NV
Questions Answered: 63
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-17
albright stoddard warnick & albright
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 17
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-03-19
Search Questions and Answers


