New Jersey | Bankruptcy
Legal Question
Is there a debt minimum?
I've been thinking of declaring bankruptcy to pull
myself out of debt. Is there a minimum amount of debt
you can be in to file for bankruptcy?
Is there a debt minimum?
I've been thinking of declaring bankruptcy to pull
myself out of debt. Is there a minimum amount of debt
you can be in to file for bankruptcy?
|
Read More Answered By: Robert Gleaner |
Re: Is there a debt minimum? There is no minimum debt requirement. However, depending on the amount of your assets, it may be difficult or impractical for you to file. And, depending on the value of your assets, you may not be able to file under Chapter 7, but you could under Chapter 13. It is very important that you speak with an attorney as soon as possible. Keep in mind that this advice is based purely on the little bit of information that you have given to me. There certainly may be other factors that would change my opinion. Further, no one can rely on advice from an attorney who has not been retained. Since it appears that you have not retained an attorney, you may want to contact an attorney (either me or someone else) to discuss your matter in more detail. Only then will you be able to rely on the advice. I will be happy to assist you. However, you need to call me at 856-546-8010. Mention Law Guru and your first consultation is free. Good luck! Rob Gleaner
|
|
Read More Answered By: Stuart G. Brecher |
Re: Is there a debt minimum? The simple answer is "no". However, the amount and nature of your debt, your monthly income, payroll deductions and monthly living expenses, and the nature and value of your assets can all influence whether or not bankruptcy makes sense for you, and if so, under what chapter of the bankruptcy code you should file for relief. Feel free to contact me if I can be of further assistance. |
Tinton Falls, Newark, Toms Riv, NJ
Questions Answered: 4416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
New York City, NY
Questions Answered: 848
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-30
Englewood Cliffs, NJ
Questions Answered: 630
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-30
Upper Darby, PA
Questions Answered: 592
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-06-15
Morristown, NJ
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-05-13
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 178
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-05-09
Mount Laurel, NJ
Questions Answered: 132
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
Bethlehem, PA
Questions Answered: 109
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-11
► Past bankruptcy Last year (march 2001) i filed for personnal bankruptcy & went...
► Loans hello, I gave a friend a loan of $100,000.00 in return he and his wife signed...
► Getting bankruptcy off credit record i filled for chapter 7 in april 1993 due to a...
► After The Bankruptcy What happens to the remaining debt amounts after a Chapter 13...
► Remove of Lien after Bankruptcy How can you remove a lien from a boat title after...
► Before Discharge but after meeting I have just a few questions regarding the current...
► Mortgage and property taxes If I decide to file bankruptcu, will my mortgage...
More Bankruptcy Law questions and answers in New Jersey| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press