New Jersey | Business Law
Legal Question
Can a person be held liable for trashing the reputation of a company?
I own a small software company that sells point of sale software and has built a solid reputation on customer service. we have a new customer that is forced (very much against his will) to use our software by his management to run his shop (small retail). He has been verbally abuse to my staff on many occations (durring traing, on the phone for technical support, etc) and has made it very clean that he does not want to use the software. The issue is that he has been called by at least two different potential customers and has completely trashed my company. We realize that he is intentionally attempting to sabatoge the software at his store because he does not want to use it. But trashing our company and service to potential clients is causing us to loose sales. I very much want to call the general manager of this business and threaten a law suit if this guy does not stop trashing our reputation without merit. is this reasonable? is it legal? my company is based in Pennsylvania and the customer is located in New Jersey.


