Legal Question in Insurance Law in New Jersey

A friend of mine (really) has a situation where an insurance company is contesting the payment of a Life Insurance death benefit because, on a renewal policy, "they claim "the signatures don't match". I read in an article on eHow.com that "A contract signature is an indication of acceptance. According to the book "Contract Law," initials or a printed name will suffice for a legal signature, and may be placed in any part of the document (not necessarily at the bottom) and be considered valid." Based upon this, I am interpreting that the insurance company's "non-matching signatures" ploy is a red-herring designed to avoid payment of the death benefit. Am I correct? Thanks very much!

Asked on 3/25/13, 3:41 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Robert Davies The Davies Law Firm, P.A.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

your friend needs a lawyer. have him call me.

Robert Davies, Esq.

201 820 3460

Read more
Answered on 3/25/13, 3:57 pm


Related Questions & Answers

More Insurance Law questions and answers in New Jersey


Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88953 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Insurance Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony SmithLawSmithLee's Summit, MO
Rahul Manchanda, Esq.Manchanda Law Office PLLCNew York, NY
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now