New Jersey | Landlord & Tenant Law
Legal Question
I have a tenant/roomate in my private home that I asked to leave after she violated rules of the house and she will not vacate. What do I have to do to get her out? I gave her 1 1/2 months to get out and that was 2 monhs ago.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Robert Gleaner |
Actually, you may have created an oral lease between the two of you. Did she pay you any rent or reimburse you for any utilities? Did she buy food in lieu of rent? She may have some arguable points to establish that she is a tenant. On the other hand, you can argue that she is just a friend who is staying there with you at will, you can ask her to leave and if she will not, you could call the police and ask them to have her removed, as a trespasser. They may or may not assist.
If she says she is a tenant, they may require you to file to have her removed by the eviction process in the landlord/tenant Court. Or you could file an ejectment action in the Superior Court. Either way, if she does not leave amicably, or with police assistance, you will need to file something in Court and you are better off having an attorney assist you.
Keep in mind that this advice is given based on the little bit of information that you have provided in your question. My advice may change based on other information. Further, no one can rely on advice from an attorney who has not been retained. You cannot rely on this advice because we have not personally met and you have not retained me as an attorney. If you have any questions whatsoever, you should meet with an attorney for a full consultation before you take any further steps. Good luck! Rob Gleaner
|
Top Attorneys in NJ
Law Offices of Jef Henninger, Esq.
Tinton Falls, Newark, Toms Riv, NJ
Questions Answered: 4416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
The Davies Law Firm, P.A.
Hackensack, NJ
Questions Answered: 3594
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-27
Corbett Law Firm LLC
Evesham, NJ
Questions Answered: 2017
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Office of Stephen R. Loeb
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 1674
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-09-02
Law Office of David Watkins
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Robert A. Gleaner, P.C.
Audubon, NJ
Questions Answered: 1218
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Kevin J. Begley - Attorney at Law
Parlin, NJ
Questions Answered: 726
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-06
Law Office of Savy Grant
Englewood Cliffs, NJ
Questions Answered: 630
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-30
Real World Law, P.C.
Upper Darby, PA
Questions Answered: 592
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-06-15
Berkowitz & Raiken
Montville, NJ
Questions Answered: 406
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-23
Search Questions and Answers


