New Jersey  |  Social Security Law

question bubble
6/11/09, 3:05 pm

Legal Question


Old fake SSN

My brother's wife has a bank account that had an old fake SSN. When she married him went to the bank to change the name and put in the new number. The bank failed to do that and now they're holding $3800 because someone used that old number and didn't pay something. Is there anything he can do? Bank says they can't prove that they never came in and changed it so they're not responsible for the money which is being held in an escrow account. Is my brother out $3800?

Thanks


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search