New Jersey | Traffic Law
Legal Question
My daughter who lives in Ohio was in New Jersey on business when she was pulled over. The officer said he pulled her over because she was talking on a cell phone. She explained to the officer that she was not on her cell phone and that she was eating an apple. She told the officer that she had not used her phone since the prior evening to call her husband. She showed him the remains of the apple and she offered to show him her cell phone call log which supported her claim of not being on the phone.
The officer continued to write the ticket and told her she could mail in the $135.00 fine or show up for court on the 20th of October. Showing up on the 20th is not an option since she will not by in New Jersey at that time.
Is there a way to contest this ticket through the mail or on-line without showing up for her court date? What are the results in failing to pay the fine? Did she show reasonable evidence to support the fact that she did not commit a violation? Is this worth fighting from an economical standpoint?
Any advise you can offer would be appreciated. Thank you.


