New Jersey | Traffic Law
Legal Question
My vehicle was stuck and damaged while parked inside a parking lot. The driver who stuck my vehicle left the scene without contacting the police or leaving a note. The parking lot owner was able to provide me with video of the incident and I was able to get the plate number, make and model of the other vehicle involved. The police say they can only produce a police report with the statements I provided to them and they cannot give me any information on the owner of the vehicle since the owner was not present during the police report.
My problem is that I only have the minimum coverage on my vehicle, so my insurance company will not act on my behalf. My insurance company explained that I need the owner’s name and insurance information so I can place a claim through the other parties insurance. Where can I go, or who can I contact to get this information? I live in New Jersey and the accident took place in Hudson County.


