New Jersey  |  Wills and Trusts

Legal Question

Asked on: 12/31/11, 9:50 am

Is it a good idea to buy someone share of property in a will?

4 Answers


Answered on: 12/31/11, 11:36 am by Robert Davies

I do not know what you are saying. If someone else inherits part of a house, then you can buy that person's share of the house.

Call me and I will talk to you about it. no charge. I am back in the office Tuesday.

Robert Davies, Esq.

201 820 3460


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


The Davies Law Firm, P.A. 45 Essex Street, Suite 3 West Hackensack, NJ 07601

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 12/31/11, 1:20 pm by Walter LeVine

Not really as issues could arise that may question the person's right to inherit. More facts are needed for a complete response.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Walter D. LeVine, Esq. 23 Vreeland Road #102 Florham Park, NJ 07932

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 12/31/11, 4:17 pm by Michael Duffy

If the testator (the person who wrote the will) is still alive, a potential beneficiary doesn't really have any interest in an estate prior to the testator's death. The will could be changed and they could receive nothing. You shouldn't "buy" this potential. Even if you did so it might not be legally enforceable, and the testator might write you out of the will anyway if word of the deal gets around. A bad idea.

If the testator is dead, then after distribution the property belongs to the beneficiary. You could then decide to purchase those assets as you would any other.

If you would like to discuss your matter further over a free and confidential phone consult, please contact me at your convenience.

Regards,

Michael J. Duffy, Esq.

Duffy Law, LLC

1-888-414-5773

www.mduffylaw.com

52 Berlin Rd.

Suite 3000

Cherry Hill, NJ 08034

mduffy@mduffylaw.com


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Duffy Law, LLC 1500 Market Street, 12th Floor, East Tower Philadelphia, PA 19102

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

115 Answers given in the last few hours.

8662 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search