New Jersey  |  Wills and Trusts

question bubble
12/19/10, 1:45 pm

Legal Question


Two siblings inherit a home in Asbury Park, NJ. Sister A doesn't want it because she rarely gets up there. Sister B wants to keep it, but doesn't want to buy out Sister A's share.

Sister B has no incentive to pay Sister A for her share of the house. Does Sister B get the best of both worlds? She gets full us of the house, but only has to pay half the taxes and upkeep since Sister A's name is also on the deed and she is legally obligated.

How can Sister A get paid for her fair share of the house when Sister B doesn't want to pay for it? Otherwise, Sister A ends up spending her life paying for half a house that she will never use.

Thank you.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search