New York  |  Appeals and Writs

question bubble
9/16/05, 3:51 pm

Legal Question


Appeal of a Judge's Mathamatical Error

In his decision a Housing Court Judge did not credit a tenant's check

which was clearly shown to have been paid and cashed by the landlord;

this amounted to 1 months rent.

By letter the landlord has refused to credit the tenant with this

payment; the landlord made the tenant pay this month's rent a second

time.

If the tenant appealed the Judge's Decision in Housing Court and

clearly showed this error, would he be eligible for legal fees and possibly

damages in getting this money reimbursed; legal fees are reciprocal in

the lease.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search