New York  |  Business Law

question bubble
12/08/05, 8:10 pm

Legal Question


chain mail letters

I received a chain mail letter for a money making venture. There are six names on a list, the recipient is told to send one dollar along with a note stating ''please add me to your mailing list'' to each person on the list. The instructions are to then remove the first name from the top of the list and add your own name to the end of the list. The next step is to purchase a mailing list from a mailing list company, (the letter suggests three different companies) and send the letter out to 200 hundred people, in hopes of receiving envelopes with dollar bills. My question is this: Is there anything illegal about this venture, postal or otherwise? Thank You.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search