New York | Business Law
11/13/07, 12:36 pm
Legal Question
Incorporation
I need to form a consulting corporation with a tax ID#. How do i go about this?
Incorporation
I need to form a consulting corporation with a tax ID#. How do i go about this?
|
Read More Answered By: John Friedman |
Re: Incorporation You first need to determine the form of the company (d/b/a, corp., LLC, partnership, LLP, LP, etc.) and the state you will be forming in. They you need to draft the proper papers and file them based on the form of the company and the state. You will also need to determine your tax type (if a corp. is it an "S" or a "C"; if an LLC will it be taxed as a partnership or a corporation). You may have to file certain forms based on this. You will also need (as your question acknowledges) to file w/ the IRS to get a tax ID -- but ONLY if you form certain types of companies.
Most of this can be done online in terms of the filings. Much of the research can be done there as well.
The problem lies in the combined complexity of the choices. You may, therefore, safely consult a lawyer with expertise in forming new ventures. This is particularly important if you have any existing assets such as a home, stock portfolio, etc. |
|
Read More Answered By: Michelle Hofkin |
Re: Incorporation Generally, you would just file with the department of business in the particular state in which you wish to file. Then, based on the type of entity you wish to create you can contact the IRS for a FEIN. If you have any questions, you should contact an attorney who may file on your behalf.
Best of Luck! |
|
Read More Answered By: Steven Czik |
Re: Incorporation Forming a Corporation or LLC can be a little tricky, there are certain differences that can impact the company and you as an owner. You really may want to consider having an attorney assist you with the filing and preparation of the necessary documents. Would you be the sole member or principal of the Corp/LLC? Would you need a partnership agreement or Articles of Incorporation prepared for you? This area of law is our specialty, however, we would need some more information before making a complete and proper determination. You are welcome to contact us for a free consultation.
Law Offices of STEVEN J. CZIK, P.C. 101 Avenue of the Americas, 15th Floor New York, New York 10013 212.413.4462 czik@ovedlaw.com
The information provided by The Law Offices of Steven J. Czik (LOSJC) is for general educational purposes only. There is no attorney-client relationship established by this communication and no privilege attaches to such communication. LOSJC is not taking and will not take any action on your behalf and will not be considered your attorney until both you and LOSJC have signed a written retainer agreement. There are strict deadlines, called statutes of limitation, within which claims or lawsuits must be filed. Therefore, if you desire the services of an attorney and decide not to retain LOSJC on terms acceptable to LOSJC, you are advised to immediately seek the services of another attorney.
|
Boca Raton, FL
Questions Answered: 7776
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Hewlett, NY
Questions Answered: 4227
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Florham Park, NJ
Questions Answered: 4123
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Dallas, TX
Questions Answered: 1828
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 1703
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-27
Chappaqua, NY
Questions Answered: 1595
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 1374
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-14
Woodbury, NY
Questions Answered: 1371
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-10-02
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Syosset, NY
Questions Answered: 1173
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-24
► Purchase of shares If a purchase 10 shares a total 20 shares of a Inc restaurant for...
► Customer Requesting info Hi, one of our customers wrote a letter asking to know who...
► Do I need to register a DBA? I am starting a recycling program under a different...
► Coworker suicide if a coworker talks about committing suicide, am i legally bound to...
► Under 18yo Business is it legal for a 16 year old to own a business or invest in...
► International Summons Dear Sir/Madam I own a US company and I may have to bring a...
► E mails Someone from my old Agency ( I don't know who or why) sent an e-mail to a...
More Business Law questions and answers in New York| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press