New York | Business Law
Legal Question
Non-compete agreement
Good Morning:
I have been with my employer for nearly three years. Yesterday he dropped off at my desk a Non-Compete Agreement and said that I had to sign this. Looks like my employment is contingent on this document, but I really do not want to sign it. There is no time period for the non-compete, but it states that I cannot work for any other company in my field for 2 years, and if I do I owe my company $50,000. After changing careers into the one I currently am in, I cannot afford to sign this should they decide to ''fire'' me for any reason. Is this legal, or more importantly- if it is, should I sign it? There really is no protection in it for me, but I feel I am being strongarmed into this. Any help would be beneficial.
Thanks-
Mike


