New York | Business Law
Legal Question
Problem with a client who is also a lawyer
I am in the middle of a dispute with a client who is a realtor,lawyer, and ''was'' a friend.I was doing a web site for his new real estate company which I started over a year ago.Because he was a friend we didn't have a contract. His site is still not done because he has yet to get me any of the content I've asked for several times via phone, e-mail and in person.He'd take days,even weeks sometimes to return calls,or e-mails.He says he'll get me what I need and then never does.Finally after over a year of telling him that this project was dragging on way too long and I needed the content,I sent him a letter giving him 30 days to get me the content.The project has taken up so much more of my time than it should and I have put off other projects because of it.After I sent him the 30 day notice he blew up at me. He still never got me the content after the 30 days so I halted the web project.Now he's blaming me for the site not being done, and saying I hurt his new real estate business. He is also threatening legal action against me.I have many e-mails from the past year,and also 2 different witnesses on at least 4 occasions when I asked for content in person.He's not accepting any blame and being very irrational. What should I do?


