New York  |  Civil Rights Law

question bubble
5/03/09, 8:40 pm

Legal Question


Freedom of Speech

I am a member and officer with a volunteer ambulance corps. Today I was suspended for a quote I have on my myspace page. The captain left me a voicemail stating I am suspended because of the message offending another member. The day before I had an incident with that member and its clearly a retaliation. Does the fact that I was suspended for my quote violate my freedom of speech and right to lawfully express my opinion? This is very humiliating. The quote on the page is based on an inside joke with a friend. Can the ambulance corps legally suspend me for this?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search