New York  |  Technology Law

question bubble
6/18/09, 10:47 am

Legal Question


Online board game legal issues

Hi,

I'm a software developer. Does

anything prevent me from making

an online version of a board game?

For example, a board game like

Parcheesi may have some patent

from board game company XYZ. If I

take the same game mechanics, call

it something different, maybe add

some variations to it - is that

sufficient to prevent any action

against me?

I see quite a few online versions of

board games that are clearly

clones, and without permission from

the board game manufacturers. I

wonder how they get around it, or

do they just wait and see if the

patent owner ever tries taking any

action against them, and deal with

it at that point?

Thanks


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search