New York  |  Construction Law

question bubble
8/10/06, 4:11 pm

Legal Question


Mechanics lien for subcontractor

It is my understanding that in New York, a subcontractor cannot sue a property owner if the general contractor does not pay the sub. The sub can, however, attach a mechanics lien against the owner's property. If the sub cannot sue the owner, then how exactly does the sub foreclose on the lien, and how does the owner present a defense? If the owner loses, what happens then? how does the sub get compensated?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search