New York | Consumer Law
Legal Question
Breach of Implied Warranty
I rode a bike that I rented from a bike shop in a triathlon. I am somewhat of a beginner and this was my first triathlon. The bike shop owner knew this. She told me about two different bikes I could rent: a beginner triathlon bike and a more advanced one. I told her I wanted a ''good'' bike and ultimately chose the more advanced one and fell while riding it, causing my leg to break. Apparently, the gearing is different on the pro bikes and I was not told of this by the bike shop owner. I've read about some implied warranties that go along with rentals that might apply to my situation (merchantability, fitness for particular purpose, etc.). Did the bike shop owner breach any possible implied warranties by letting my rent the professional bike when she knew I was just a beginner and would not know how to work the gearing?


