New York  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
2/28/03, 1:25 pm

Legal Question


Can they charge me an extra $10,000 for reposessing my vehicle?

I called the bank and told them I could not afford my van anymore (they had turned me down to refinance it) and asked them to come and get it. I then owed $12,000. They sold the van at an auction for $4,700. I just received a letter in the mail stating my new balance AFTER the $4,700 credit is alomost $17,500!!!!! So they charged me an additional $10,000 for fees associated with the repossession. This is crazy!!! I told them to send me a copy of the contract I signed where it said I would agree to pay an extra $10K if they took the van back. Doesn't this seem a little steep? What are my rights in this regard. I am a single mom of three kids, with very little means, have no other assets and will not pay them this money. PLEASE HELP!!!

Sleepless in NY....


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search