Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in New York

I loaned a then-friend $2,000. Repayment was due 18 months ago. I gave him extensions. When he didn't pay, I finally decided to sue him. He secretly audio taped me admitting to suing him mainly out of spite, and he says my case no longer has any merit. I say that since he breached the contract, his tape holds no weight. Who is right? I live in NY.

Asked on 5/07/13, 8:32 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Kevin Connolly Kevin J. Connolly
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

He owes you $2000. Plus interest @9%. I can't decipher the defense, but it looks like cow doo-doo to me. You can call me at 516-242-1453.

Read more
Answered on 5/08/13, 5:47 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in New York

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88393 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Credit, Debt and Collections Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Scott RiddleLaw Office of Scott B. Riddle, LLCAtlanta, GA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now