New York | Criminal Law
Legal Question
Is violating probation a new misdemeanor/conviction. I was violated for failing to get written permission to change my address, no new arrest or pending charge. I was held and given time served and all further probation dismissed. I ask because I am filling out an application and it asks if I have been convicted of any felony or misdemeanor in the last 10 years. My original conviction for DWI-misdemeanor was over 10 years but the probation violation was 9.75 years ago, if it (the VOP) is not a misdemeanor in and of itself, I don't have to report it, do I? Thank you


