New York | Discrimination Law
Legal Question
Harassment of woman in her nineties
My mother is a prisioner in her own co-op in Queens. Every time she even goes for the mail or to the nearby supermarket, the superintendent and his crew use their keys (we have changed the lock multiple times to no avail) and help themselves to her food, clothing, linens, personal mementos of her long life, etc. They broke part of her bathroom sink and some chairs. They left trash in the apartment. They also phone constantly. The co-op board refuses to do anything about the situation. As her daughter, I phoned the police. I spoke to them. The police refused to even file a complaint because they said there was no sign of forced entry. Nor were there any witnesses although my mother did tell the police she has seen the culprits in the window of her apartment when she is walking to the building. When I have watched her apartment,I have seen guys at the peephole. They go away fast when I open the door. No one seems willing to help-not the police, not the managing agent, not the co-op board. I was toying with the idea of filing a complaint with the NYC Civil Rights Division. This is a very old and frail woman who is being harassed. Other residents, non-elderly, are not. What suggestions does anyone have?


