New York | Education Law
Legal Question
holding a student back in 7th grade and 8th grade
does the school have the right to hold a student back in both 7th grade and then again in 8th grade, do to poor attendance? and poor grades from poor attendance? is there any thing that a parent can do to help her pass into the 9th grade with some kind of extra help? i am having her evaluated for a learning dissability and also a psychological evaluation. she was in a 504 program when she was in elementary school that was supposed to carry over to middle shool and did not. she has had problems since she was approx 4 we have been to counclours and pshychatrists . they tell me she is good in school when she is there but not good when she is home, can you help me? can i make them pass her?
thank you!
--name removed--


