New York  |  Elder Law

question bubble
10/02/07, 7:07 am

Legal Question


Life Tenant

My parents deeded the house to me in 2003 thru an elder care lawyer with them as life tenants. they have been in a nursing home for 1 1/2 years, they are unable to pay any expenses on the property and i have been paying all the taxes, ins, fuel Etc. My wife and myself moved into the house 1 year ago to keep it up. we have spent over $10k of our own money maintaining the house. now my father is very disgruntled, angry and medicated and wants us out of the house. this has caused a great hardship financially and emotionally to us and we don't know what our options are. the lawyer that took $7500 to handle their estate planning will not advise us. HELP what do we do? there is no reasoning with my dad.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search